The sting of regret…

We must all suffer one of two things: the pain of discipline or the pain of regret or disappointment. –Jim Rohn

Man, I did so good at the Christmas party. I actually didn’t eat anything most of the day to save calories for the Christmas party food and then some really hungry boys showed up so I wanted to make sure people had plenty…that’s when the downward spiral started. By the time my guests left I was ready to eat half a cow because it was almost midnight with less than 100 calories consumed for the day and Wendy’s was the only thing open. Thats when the bad choices started. Sunday I calculated calories but was 150 over and figured that I gained lbs back. I will spare you the delicious details but I overindulged this weekend and am ready to get back on track.

The pain of regret most assuredly comes as a morning, unhappy scale discovery. The scale this morning says I gained 4lbs!!! However, I don’t know that I believe I have actually all this was gained weight in fat pounds. According to Mayo clinic:

Because 3,500 calories equals about 1 pound (0.45 kilogram) of fat, you need to burn 3,500 calories more than you take in to lose 1 pound. So, in general, if you cut 500 calories from your typical diet each day, you’d lose about 1 pound a week (500 calories x 7 days = 3,500 calories).Apr 11, 2015

 

Although I ate bad meals, my calories were only 100 or 200 over my usual limit combined for both days which means I am well under if we go by this formula. I think the most frustrating thing of this process is having to weigh every day because things completely out of my control like water weight and muscle gain totally wreck my psyche. I was expecting a lb or 2 but definitely not 4. We will see tomorrow if this was a freak reading or if I did indeed gain this insane amount. But regardless, I am ready to have a great fast day and keep it moving because there is no reason to dwell on the past. The important thing is always to look forward and make healthy decisions today.

We had a fabulous Christmas party and then a sleepover with some of our friends because we were close to their early morning destination on Sunday so we ended up staying up until 2am–This is 5hrs past my usual bed time! And then Sunday night, for whatever reason I couldn’t sleep and was up between 2:30-5am until I finally dozed off. So for obvious reasons, I am struggling today. Due to my lack of sleep, my meal planning/grocery list did not get done on my usual Sunday afternoon schedule so I only have half the week planned. Hopefully, things will get back on track and I will finish strong through this weekend because there are more friends meals on Friday and family visitors this Saturday. Holidays are wonderful times of the year but a nightmare for dieting.

Total lbs lost: 13-4

 

Leave a Reply

