Today I choose happiness

 

So I woke up extra early this morning and I ended up weighing myself and found that I had somehow gained a lb! After a day that I had only consumed a net calorie count of 226 calories and did a great deal of exercise. I just don’t know that I believe it but I guess we’ll see tomorrow morning. Obviously I am a little confused and frustrated but this is not going to ruin my rainy day indoors.

Abby gets her annual shots today (poor bear) and she is so tiny that it really seems to effect her more than the vet likes to admit. She mopes for hours after she gets home and seems to feel bad. We started calling our couch bed “the recovery bed” in Radford after Abby was attacked by another huge dog 3 years ago and wasn’t even able to walk because of all the bites and pain. The term “recovery bed” just stuck and being home-bodies it became the go-to solution to recharge i.e. if I had a bad day at work or Kristian had an exhausting day in grad school. So today Abby and I are going to the vet and then spending the majority of the day on the “recovery couch.” Great rainy day to snuggle with the puppy and finish the Christmas cards.

Here is what I ate yesterday:

Breakfast- 112 calories

  • 6 almonds

Lunch- 120 calories

IMG_3302

I have started eating some variation of this pretty much once a week. It doesn’t look great but it is so tasty and I am ALWAYS full after eating it.

  • miso packets
  • 2 soft boiled eggs
  • sriracha

Dinner- 250 calories (yum!) (also, I had a salad 2 weeks ago from Chipotle with the same ingredients and it was 440 MORE calories)

IMG_3306

  • 2 cups romaine lettuce
  • 1/2 cup corn (canned corn, cilantro, onion, lime juice)
  • 2TBSP pico de gallo
  • 4oz chicken
  • cumin, chili powder and garlic paste to taste
  • 2 TBSP fat free sour cream

Total calories: 482

Total lbs lost: 12

Total calories burned: 256

 

addendum:

Not sure how reliable “Shape” is on evidence based articles but this definitely made me feel better:

“Bottom line: it’s actually normal for your weight to ebb and flow, so if you see a slightly increase, don’t panic. To gain just one pound of actual body fat, you’d have to eat 3,500 more calories than you burn (think 500 excess calories every day for seven days straight — 500 is the amount in three handfuls of potato chips, or a slice of pecan pie, or one cup of premium ice cream). If your weight on the scale increases by one pound and you haven’t consumed an excess 3,500 calories, you haven’t actually gained a pound of body fat. So shift your focus away from the scale and toward how you look and feel. It’s very possible to see more muscle definition and even a reduction in inches when your weight in pounds hasn’t budged (Shape Magazine, 2011).”

http://www.shape.com/latest-news-trends/3-reasons-your-weight-fluctuates-have-nothing-do-body-fat

Leave a Reply

