Happy Friday!

“Take care of your body. It’s the only place you have to live.”  ~Jim Roh

In addition to yesterday’s small celebration I also was feeling reflective. Over the last few years I have been on a rollercoaster weight-wise and it seems to me that when I have been at my heaviest, I have also been the most stressed. Graduate school and a VERY challenging internship started the first weight gain. Then, I was able to lose the weight and keep it off for about a year when a very stressful job seemed to influence another weight influx.

I know part of it was being so totally exhausted (mentally and physically) that I did not want to leave the house once I got home and workout was out of the question. But I also think it was a time and motivation issue. When all of your energy is invested in the working hours of the day, nights and weekends don’t seem like a great time to sit down and do hours of math and meal planning. This is something I am going to have to navigate once I find a job. I think we as healthcare providers and “people servers” are often the worst at taking care of our own needs (and often those of our loved ones at home suffer as well). So my goal is obviously to lose weight but I am also working on finding a balanced, healthy lifestyle. Here’s what I ate yesterday:

Breakfast- 210 calories

Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwich- Canadian bacon, egg and cheese

Lunch-548 calories

IMG_3150

This was DELICIOUS! A friend of my parents gave my dad some deer meat and we had the most delicious, juicy venison burger ever.

  • 4oz fresh ground venison
  • 1 TBSP light mayo
  • potato roll
  • mustard
  • 2 slivers of white onion
  • 7 tortilla chips
  • 2 TBSP Trader Joes corn salsa

Dinner-418 calories

IMG_3162.JPG

Now, I have used this recipe for the chicken twice and Kristian and I both REALLY like it. However, I hesitate to post the blog I got it from because her angry disclaimers and rude responses to the bloggers comments really upset me. I don’t know how someone can be so hostile over a chicken recipe. Anyways, I will attach it the bottom so you can read the ridiculousness for yourself.

The recipe calls for chicken thighs but I used chicken tenderloins to keep it low calorie.

  • 2 cups of steamed broccoli
  • Ore-Ida mashed potato cup
  • 40z chicken tenderloins
  • And the recipe as attached

Total calories:1402  (plus wine and pretzel thins snack)

Total lbs lost: 10

Total calories burned: 692

http://www.tablefortwoblog.com/holy-yum-chicken/

 

Leave a Reply

