Warning: This post may be mostly rant, and just a tiny meal log….

Disclaimer: I am about to say something that I think may annoy people but I am going to say it anyway.

As a child-free adult, I am so exhausted with having to deal with other people’s bad children everywhere I go. Kristian and I are really on the fence about if we even want to have children but every time I go out lately (groceries, shopping, restaurant, WHERE EVER) there are children throwing tantrums, screaming at the top of their lungs, laying in the aisles demanding items (toys, candy, etc). And with all of this horrible behavior it makes me wonder: Is the behavior of a child really so much out of the parents control that I should have compassion for the parent and not be so intolerant? Am I being selfish to want to have a nice dinner without kids running around my table or loudly yelling from the table next to me? I think my parents will attest to the fact that I was NO little angel. I heard the term “strong willed child” thrown around pretty much until I reached young adulthood. With that being said, I think my parents did the best that they could and did not hesitate to have a “bathroom conversation” with me if I was acting a fool. There were a large variety of (non-abusive) punishments: spanking, soap on the tongue, LOTS of room time, revocation of privileges (phone, tv, friend time, etc). I am also pretty sure that we did not eat out very much when we were kids. We mostly ate at home together or my parents would get a babysitter.

I’m sure there are other parents who are doing it right. I have friends with excellently behaved children (of all ages). So did they just get lucky with awesome kids who have great personalities? I don’t think so. I think my friends have created boundaries, they don’t allow disrespect and sass-mouthing, demanding whine/meltdowns or out of control angry episodes to continue. There is a constant instruction of correct behavior–just as my parents did. So what is up with the rest of the parents to these little delinquents? What happened to excusing yourself and your child to the bathroom or outside until they can calm down? What happened to children respecting their parents and if they don’t, having consequences. What happened to parenting instead of allowing your child to act like a hoodlum in a public place while you laugh instead of redirect their bad behavior?

Maybe I am way out of bounds. And being someone who has never had to deal with my own kid’s embarrassing meltdown places me in a category of blissful ignorance. I know that even the most well behaved kids in the world are still going to have their moments. I am not advocating being a suffocating, authoritarian parent, or saying that people should be confined to their homes until their kids are old enough to know how to behave.  I guess my point is, children are our future. And it seems like the kids who are allowed to act a fool while the parents ignore them and disrupt everyone around them today are going to be the same adults tomorrow who are just as unbearable to be around.

Alright, now for why I am really here. My meal log. 🙂

Breakfast-230 calories

IMG_3072

This is one of those jimmy dean frozen things. Its pretty good for 230 calories! And it is actually lower than the Special K breakfast sandwiches that we were eating.

Lunch- 437 calories

Alright now I didn’t take a pictures because my lunch looked almost exactly like my breakfast. But here’s what I ate:

  • thin bread round
  • 2 oz turkey deli meat
  • 1 slice thin cheddar cheese
  • 1 TBSP mayo
  • mustard
  • S&P
  • pretzel thins and 2 TBSP of pimento cheese (yum)

Dinner-419 calories

Sinagang! Yum!!

IMG_3082

  • frozen TJ green beans
  • water
  • 7oz pork
  • 1/2 white onion
  • Mamasita’s sinagang spice mix
  • 1/2 cup basmati rice
  • sriracha

I am sure that I do mine differently than the aunties and uncles who cook real Filipino food. But after cooking this for years, this is my favorite way to make it. Boil pork, green beans and diced onion until all are tender and cooked through. Take the pot off the heat and add mamasita’s mix. Let simmer for a few minutes and then enjoy with rice!

Total calories: 1400 (i also had a glass of wine)

Total lbs lost: Still 7.5

IMG_3075

This was definitely me this morning. I knew after all that sodium that I wasn’t going to lose anything. That’s ok! I am so close to 10lbs I can taste it!

One thought on “Warning: This post may be mostly rant, and just a tiny meal log….

  1. Yeah I get this…it gets under my skin SOOOOO much when i hear the smart ass responses little kids give adults and the parents laugh… it literally makes me insane. It;s not cute, its not funny but people think it is.. when little kids talk like the crap they hear on tv. Annnnd another rant I have is when you are out with people and they let their little kid interrupt and dominate the conversation. I do have 2 friends who will tell their children to stop interrupting and that they are being rude but i definitely have friends who don’t do that and it makes me insane

Leave a Reply

