chronicles of a recovering foodie

If I had to list my interests (I will spare you) I think food would be pretty high up on the list. My parents always made it a point to eat dinner together. I have such fond memories of sharing meals with wonderful people and I have a lot of excellent cooks in my family. Because of this, I learned to really enjoy cooking as well. I love cooking for other people and seeing them enjoy it. I love the adventure of cooking new things, experiencing the culture of cooking ethnic recipes or cooking without a recipe at all.  All things I was sure I would lose when I started 5:2. But I have to say I have been pleasantly surprised that I can still cook delicious, healthy food and stay within the calorie range. And since I have gotten on the weight loss rollercoaster as an adult, I have been convinced that my problem was not what I was eating but how much. We rarely eat fast food, fried food, things swimming in butter, etc. We also made a change last year in diet and cut way back on how much meat we eat.

I love a good meatless meal and I also really enjoy the easy and delicious substitutions for high carbs items like pasta. As I have said before, I really don’t have a sweet tooth. I might crave chocolate a couple times a year but I LOVE salt. I used to revel in not being the girl who ate a whole box of cookies or pint of Ben & Jerrys in one sitting but it recently occurred to me that eating salt in large quantities has some pretty bad consequences too. And I AM the girl who could kill a whole sleeve of saltines in no time flat. With that being said, although I have tried to be more mindful of how much sodium I am ingesting, if I ever had to adhere to a cardiac diet I would be very sad.

Today was full of great food but dinner had to be the best so far. I would definitely recommend it!

Here is what I ate:

Breakfast- 140 calories

I’ll bet you can guess….

IMG_3039

  • 2 hard boiled eggs
  • LOTS of black pepper

Lunch- 201 calories

Now, for whatever reason this did not photograph well but, it looked much more appetizing in real life and tasted great!

IMG_3042

  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 4oz ground chicken
  • 1/2 green onion
  • cumin, cayenne pepper, chili powder, lime juice, salt and black pepper
  • 1/4 cup fat free cheddar cheese

Brown the chicken in the pan with some cooking spray and seasoning and then bake with the cheese until melted (350 for 20mins)

Snack- 12 calories

I ate one saltine cracker and had a cup of tea to warm up.

Dinner- 140 calories

IMG_3052

  • 2 cups spaghetti squash
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms
  • LOTS of garlic (don’t worry, we have listerine)
  • parsley
  • 3 TBSP parmesan cheese

I have attached the original recipe but here is what I did:

Bake spaghetti squash for 45 mins on 380. Use cooking spray and cook mushrooms and garlic in a saute pan. Once squash is done, shred with a fork and toss in the pan for 2 mins to incorporate with 2 TBSP cheese and mushrooms. Garnish with last TBSP of cheese and parsley. If you read the original recipe, you will notice that I skipped the oil–I didn’t miss it.

http://www.pickledplum.com/spaghetti-squash-healthy-recipe/

Total calories: 494

Total lbs lost: 7

Leave a Reply

