Day 9

So today I tried something new. Instead of eating smaller meals during the day and then snacking at night, I decided to eat a bigger breakfast and lunch and then I would not be starving by the time Kristian gets home and we eat dinner. I also figured out a long time ago that if I eat a warm meal I feel more full than eating cold foods,something like salad, even if the protein is higher or equal to the warm food. I find the psychology of food and dieting very interesting.

Yesterday, I was researching the recommended daily ratios for carbs/fat/protein and the articles I read all said that the carbs should be the highest percentage. I know for my own body that I tend to lose quicker if I lower carb intake so I found this interesting. My current ratios are always protein at the highest and then carbs and fat as the lowest. I do think the recommended ratios might be helpful as I increase my exercise. I am currently up to 45mins on the treadmill 4-5 days/week and have been doing an arm challenge but I would like to do more.

Here is what I ate:

Breakfast-225 calories

IMG_2920

  • 1 egg cooked over easy
  • 1 slice turkey bacon
  • 1 “fold it” bread
  • sriracha

Lunch-301 calories

I enjoyed this lunch with my awesome mom. She has become my lunch buddy a few days a week and a great accountability partner. She also, as always, is the greatest cheerleader and keeps me motivated.

IMG_2921

  • 6oz salmon
  • lemon pepper
  • lemon juice
  • 1.5 cups of steamed broccoli

Dinner- 552 calories

This is another one of my favorite meals that just happens to be pretty healthy. It could certainly be made with different ingredients that would make it higher calorie and probably even tastier but this Mexican pizza was fabulous and very filling.

IMG_2938

  • 4oz ground chicken
  • cumin, chili powder, cayenne pepper, S&P, garlic powder to taste
  • 2 small tortillas
  • 1/2 cup refried beans (vegetarian)
  • 1/4 cup fat free cheddar cheese shredded
  • 1/2 cup rotel mild
  • 2 TBSP sliced black olives
  • 2 TBSP sour cream
  • TBSP green onions
  • sriracha

Brown the meat and add spices. Take first tortilla and spread refried beans in an even layer. Place second tortilla on top and layer with meat, cheese, rotel and olives. Bake at 350 for 15mins or until cheese melted. Add sour cream, sriracha and green onions to the top and ENJOY!

Total calories: 1463 (extra calories were wine and crackers)

Total lbs lost: 4.5 <– I WILL break 5 lbs tomorrow…i can feel it!

Leave a Reply

