Graduation and tonight’s dinner

A few updates since I dropped off the blogger scene for almost a month! (Shameful):

  • We are still on Atkins
  • I have lost another 4lbs since my last post totaling at 34lbs lost
  • 1 more lb to go
  • 4 days till graduation
  • less than 2 weeks till Mexico!

So now that everyone is caught up, I have a recipe to share. One of the meals on the Atkins menu is turkey legs. We have tried several times to do different things with this and none of them really turned out exactly how I wanted it. But tonight’s meal was absolutely fantastic and I plan to do it again soon! Here is my version of the recipe I used:

I did this except I did not measure, as I always I just kinda guess.

  • 2 Turkey legs
  • half of 1 lemon
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons salt, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme,
  • 1 TBSP unsalted butter
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 2 handfuls of sliced mushrooms

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. I put my turkey legs in a pyrex. Rub/squeeze lemon over both legs.  Put butter and wine in sauce pan and heat over medium-high heat.  Once it starts to bubble, pour over turkey legs. In a separate bowl, mix spices together and then rub into turkey legs. I just sprinkled the mushrooms around the turkey. Bake for 1 hour, uncovered.

We ate the turkey with Atkins zucchini salad:

  • 2TBSP  Basil Pesto
  • 1 medium zucchini, sliced
  • 2 Ounce-weight green peppers, diced
  • 1/3 lemon, squeezed

Mix all ingredients together and chill to let flavors mix while turkey is being cooked.

 

I am embarrassed to say that I was so hungry that I did not take any pictures so I apologize for the  boring post, but I can assure you it was delicious!!

 

Enjoy! I will add another recipe tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

